1 Ground rules – Farm layout, productivity and beauty

Welcome back to the second part of my guide to farmville. This part is intended to cover level 30 onwards and before we take another look at new features I’m going to talk about farm layout. I have already mentioned in the first part that it makes sense to trap your farmer and use some functional buildings for animals and keep profitable animals and trees for the collectibles. You should also try to expand your farm to the largest possible size as soon as you can. When you have expanded your farm to the 28×28 version, you might think about rearranging buildings, animals and trees to get the most plots or spreading out animals and getting rid of plots.

Beauty is very subjective of course, some people think their farm only looks good when they arrange their plots so that it looks like their farm has hills but they can’t be worked on with vehicles anymore. One way of making your plots look beautiful is by planting different crops that ideally take the same time to grow in patterns. The drawback is again that as your designs get more intricate they take longer to plant and can’t be done with vehicles.

One of the basic ways to make your farm look better is by placing trees along the right edge and the top since that hides the lines and the writing there. It also makes sense to place buildings next to each other along these edges so they don’t cover up animals or plots behind them (unless you want them to). With animals like calves, chickens, foals and sheep you can arrange them in different patterns or just try to mix them so your farm looks more colorful. I like my calves mixed up and close together but a friend of mine told me he thinks it looks way too crowded for him. If you like to give your animals more room, you lose some profit. But you should like your farm the way it is, so don’t make too much of this and keep them the way you like it best.

Another way to make your farm look different that doesn’t cost much is by using the different backgrounds you can choose at the market in the farm upgrade section. A snow blanket may be a nice change for the winter or you can just make your farm look like a beach or a desert. Usually players who care enough about the look of their farm to choose a different background will also experiment with theme decorations. You don’t necessarily have to spend farmcash and buy everything that gets released for a theme, you can also buy only a few coin buildings and decorations and combine them with other themes or make one corner of your farm into a theme area.

For practical reasons it is a good idea to keep the work on harvesting, plowing and seeding to a minimum for each turn if you still want to progress fast and plant new crops several times a day. So it is a good idea to put your plots together in one large area instead of having small separate areas to plant. It is also easier and faster to work on them if you place them so you get 4×4 areas for your souped up vehicles to work well on them. I have 27×12 plots at the front of my farm and the plots area extends almost all the way to 28×12 plots on the left. In order to harvest, plow and plant all these 511 plots I only have to click 33 times using the combine.

As long as 2/3 to ¾ of your farm are still covered with plots, you should have a quite productive farm. If you are still prepared to plant and harvest several times a day, you will probably overtake all your neighbors sooner or later.

2 Old neighbors and new limits – when to get rid of neighbors and find new ones and the new challenge of staying under the limit while still getting the goodies you want

© Conny Streit, 2011

About lcr1tter

I have created this site to share my thoughts and insights about fun activities like browser games. I was not sponsored or influenced by companies who created the games but stated my honest opinions and created my own texts and videos here. I'm going to publish a few graphic short stories that have been in my head for a few months now. I hope I can get them to come out and show themselves. ;-)
This entry was posted in FarmVille, FarmVille Guide, Farmville Guide II: How to get to level 85 in less than 3 months and have fun playing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 1 Ground rules – Farm layout, productivity and beauty

  1. Hi there! This article could not be written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my
    previous roommate! He always kept talking about this.
    I’ll send this post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. Sandy Sims says:

    Thanks for this Connie. I want to go back through and read all of the first part as well. Especial thanks for the mention of GU. I use it all the time and have gathered quite a few items from feeds that I just don’t have the time to get individually.

    • lcr1tter says:

      Thank you for your positive feedback :) I learned about GU when they they were being prosecuted by people last year, who tried to stir up enough trouble to get them kicked off facebook. But when neighbors started posting they’d remove all GU members from their neighborhood I became curious about them and joined because I thought GU was actually doing something useful. Now, a year later, GU has ten times more members as the hate group. I’m glad they’ve stayed and I actually think that they have served zynga because the snag bar keeps games like farmville playable and enjoyable in the long run. :)

  3. Kevin McKinney says:

    Thank you, I’ve found your Farmville information very helpful, especially your stance that there is no ONE single way to play! :)

    • lcr1tter says:

      Thank you for the positive feedback :) I’m toeing the line between guide and lose suggestions there, because I think the game is still evolving and some things that may seem to make sense now won’t be as good later, maybe. And I have read other guides and didn’t think the approach: “I’ve played farmville for a month, here is how I overtook everyone in my neighborhood before I stopped playing because the game is too boring” very convincing. ;-) I rather try to find things that keep me and my neighbors playing and having fun :)

Leave a Reply

